I grew up eating my Grandma Dorothy’s classic beef stroganoff recipe, so this homey dish has a special place in my heart. She often made comfort food for my sisters and me when we went over to visit her after church, so cooking and eating this dish reminds me of her in a special way. If you’ve never had beef stroganoff, it’s a rich, creamy beef and mushroom sauce served over noodles. It’s the sort of no-frills family recipe that warms and reassures in that special way that I remember only grandma could—simply, unconditionally, and where food is involved, deliciously.

How Do I Make Beef Stroganoff?

This is an easy beef stroganoff recipe, especially since the slow cooker does the cooking. Here’s everything you need to know to make creamy, tender traditional beef stroganoff, crockpot-style!

What is the Best Cut of Meat for Beef Stroganoff?

There are a few ways to make Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff. The biggest differentiator is the type of meat you choose. When you make it, you can use:

sliced beef (typically sirloin)ground beefmeatballs

My grandma always used sliced beef in her stroganoff, so that’s what you’ll find here, but if you prefer to make slow cooker ground beef stroganoff, I have a few suggestions for you in the recipe notes.

What is Stroganoff Sauce Made Of?

In the version of the recipe that appears in the classic Russian cookbook A Gift to Young Housewives, the beef stroganoff sauce is made with lightly floured beef cubes, bouillon, and mustard, then finished with a sour cream sauce. No cremini mushrooms, no onions.In the versions of beef stroganoff you’ll find most often in the United States (and on my Grandma’s table), the beef stroganoff sauce also includes onion powder and mushrooms.Some recipes call for white wine (this one does not, though you can add it if you like) and others even use cream cheese.

Another branch on the beef stroganoff family tree is beef stroganoff with cream of mushroom soup. Or, check out my recipe for Instant Pot Beef Stroganoff. It’s adapted from this slow cooker version but is ready in a fraction of the time. Do not go here. Beef stroganoff from scratch is easy to make; no need to rely on processed ingredients.

What Herbs are Used in Beef Stroganoff?

Let’s be real: beef stroganoff is not a looker. That said, you can certainly add a pop of color and an extra layer of deliciousness by finishing it with fresh herbs.

Thyme is my favorite herb to add to beef stroganoff and what you see pictured here.Parsley is another tasty choice.Dill, while not traditional, is another herb I really enjoy with beef stroganoff. While I don’t always have fresh dill on hand, I do have dried dill weed in my pantry, which is super yummy added to the beef stroganoff sauce. This is a matter of taste, so feel free to leave it out if you prefer.

How to Make a Healthy Beef Stroganoff Recipe

For this Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff recipe, I stuck to my grandma’s recipe as inspiration, with a few departures to make it a healthier beef stroganoff.

I opted for a lean cut of beef: sirloin. Sirloin can still stand up to the long cooking time in the crock pot (and crock pot beef stroganoff = easy beef stroganoff) but is relatively lean compared to other cuts.

When the slow cooker stroganoff is finished, the beef is fall-apart tender, without being heavy or greasy. (For another fall-apart tender beef recipe, see this amazing Crock Pot Beef Stew!)

Instead of making the crockpot beef stroganoff with sour cream, I used plain Greek yogurt. It gives the stroganoff sauce the same richness I remember from my childhood, but Greek yogurt is higher in protein and lower in fat than sour cream. 

Finally, while I kept the classic egg noodle shape, I used whole wheat egg noodles instead of regular, as they offer more fiber and protein. 

You really can serve this crock pot beef stroganoff with any shape of noodles you like, but egg noodles are classic. I’m also biased, as those are the noodles my grandma used in her best beef stroganoff, and grandma knows best. Speaking of grandma knowing best, here’s the most important tip about beef stroganoff she shared every single time we ate it: Go back for seconds. ALWAYS.

Tools to Make Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

5-quart or larger slow cooker (I have this programmable one, which switches to “keep warm” once the time is up)Small whisk (perfect for thickening the sauce)

 

Crockpot Beef and Broccoli

2 hrs 15 mins

Homemade Hamburger Helper

35 mins

Ground Beef and Potatoes

35 mins

Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 17Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 6Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 11Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 12Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 26Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 52Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 36Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 95Beef Stroganoff from Scratch  Slow Cooker Recipe    WellPlated com - 87